David Copperfield – The Personal History of…..by Charles Dickens

This five week course will study Dickens’s most autobiographical novel – The Personal History of David Copperfield.  Serialised between 1849 – 1850, it only emerged much later that so much of David’s life has its roots in Dickens’s own early life.   This novel is a firm favourite in the Dickens canon and brings us memorable characters such as Peggotty, Betsy Trotwood, the sinister Murdstones, the feckless Mr Micawber and the oh so very ‘umble Uriah Heep.    We will consider the novel’s place in Dickens’s wider canon as well as exploring its literary merits and the social context of the period.

The five week reading schedule will be as follows:

Week 1 – Chapters 1-12

Week 2 – Chapters 13-24

Week 3 – Chapters 25-37

Week 4 – Chapters 38-50

Week 5  – Chapters 51 – end


Course Details

This course finished on 20 October 2023